Connect with us

Lastest update

Canada introduced the TEER system



IRCC and ESDC will implement the adjustments in the fall of 2022

Canada has implemented NOC 2021, and the modifications will be included in the immigration system in 2022. The National Occupational Classification (NOC) plays an essential role in Canada’s immigration system. Candidates for skilled workers and temporary foreign employees must demonstrate that their work experience meets the NOC requirements of the program to which they are applying. For example, Express Entry is the principal means to come to Canada as a skilled worker. Therefore, candidates must establish that their job experience fits under NOC skill level 0, A, or B as one of the Express Entry qualifying considerations.


The NOC is Canada’s national occupational reference. It categorizes employment activities in Canada to assist in understanding the structure of the Canadian labour market, running government programs, promoting skill development, conducting research, and helping Canada in managing its immigration and foreign worker programs.

The federal government performs a substantial review of the NOC every ten years. As a result, the NOC is updated to reflect developments in the Canadian economy and labour market. NOC 2021 was launched in September by Statistics Canada and Employment and Social Development Canada (ESDC). NOC 2021 is the culmination of a lengthy process that includes comprehensive study, analysis, and evaluation of the Canadian economy.

Currently, Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada (IRCC), Employment and Social Development Canada (ESDC), and Canada’s provinces and territories utilize NOC 2016 to run immigration and foreign worker programs. However, IRCC stated that both IRCC and ESDC will not implement NOC 2021 until the autumn of 2022. The federal government wishes to provide stakeholders, including immigration applicants, with additional time to comprehend how NOC 2021 may affect them.


Get a Free Express Entry Assessment

Major changes to NOC 2021:

The NOC’s present four-category “skill level” framework has been replaced with a new six-category system that describes the degree of Training, Education, Experience, and Responsibilities (TEER) required to enter each occupation until the NOC has four skill levels.


NOC A professions often need a university degree.

NOC B occupations are in skilled crafts or require a college education.

NOC C occupations require intermediate skills or job-specific training.


Finally, NOC D occupations are labour roles that require on-the-job training.

NOC 2021 will categorize occupations using a five-tier hierarchical framework. As a result, occupations will henceforth be coded using a five-digit method rather than the current four-digit approach.

NOC 2021 has replaced the four skill type categories (i.e., NOC A, B, C, D) with a TEER system with six categories: 0, 1, 2, 3, 4, and 5. 


TEER 0: Occupations in management

TEER 1: A university degree (bachelor’s, master’s, or doctorate); or several years of TEER category two experience in a given occupation (when applicable).

TEER 2: Completion of a two- to the three-year postsecondary education program at a community college, the institution of technology, or CEGEP; or completion of a two to a five-year apprenticeship training program; or occupations having supervisory or major safety duties (police officers and firefighters); or several years of TEER category three experience in a given occupation (when applicable).


TEER 3: Completion of a two-year postsecondary education program at a community college, institute of technology, or CÉGEP; or apprenticeship training that lasts shorter than two years; or more than six months of on-the-job training, training courses, or particular professional experience with a high school diploma; or several years of TEER category four experience in a given occupation (when applicable).

TEER 4: Secondary school graduation; or several weeks of on-the-job training combined with a high school diploma; or Several years of TEER category five experience in a given occupation (when applicable).

TEER 5: There are no formal schooling prerequisites and only a brief job demonstration.


It’s impact on immigrants and international workers

NOC 2021 will have minimal to no influence on immigration and foreign worker applicants. This is due to the fact that, notwithstanding changes to the NOC, their work experience will continue to match the eligibility requirements for their preferred immigration or foreign worker program. However, the revisions will benefit some candidates while harming others. For example, candidates with revised employment experience may now be eligible for further programs. Conversely, others may discover that they are no longer eligible for the same reason.

At this time, it is unclear how applications will be affected. Stakeholders will have to wait for more information from IRCC and ESDC. According to Statistics Canada, the TEER system is replacing the skill type model for two key reasons. To begin, the TEER system seeks to clarify the amount of education and work experience necessary to work in a particular occupation. Second, Statistics Canada considers that the skill type approach produces false classifications of low- and high-skilled professions. Implementing TEER should provide stakeholders with a better understanding of the number of skills necessary for each occupation.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *