Connect with us


European Union Expands Passport-Free Journey Zone



Spread the love

Skift Take

Romanians and Bulgarians will not want passports for EU journey when flying or crusing, however they may nonetheless want them when utilizing land borders.


Residents of European Union members Romania and Bulgaria will now not want a passport from March 31, 2024 to journey by air or sea to most different EU international locations in addition to Norway and Switzerland, the council of EU governments stated on Saturday.

The choice extends the EU’s passport-free journey zone, known as the Schengen space, to 25 of the 27 EU international locations. The Schengen space contains additionally Norway and Switzerland, which aren’t a part of the EU, however doesn’t embrace EU members Eire and Cyprus and EU residents nonetheless will need to have a passport to enter them.

Romanians and Bulgarians will nonetheless face passport checks when crossing land borders to their EU neighbours, although talks on lifting them as effectively will proceed in 2024 and a call is to be taken on that “inside an affordable timeframe”, the European Fee stated in an announcement.


(Reporting by Jan Strupczewski; Modifying by Lisa Shumaker)

This text was from Reuters and was legally licensed by way of the DiveMarketplace by Trade Dive. Please direct all licensing inquiries to [email protected].

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *